RAVE REVIEW: DEFY by L.J. Shen

defy-cover

add-to-goodreads-button

My name is Melody Greene, and I have a confession to make.
I slept with my student, a senior in high school.
Multiple times.
I had multiple orgasms.
In multiple positions.
I slept with my student and I enjoyed it.
I slept with my student and I’d do it all over again if I could turn back time.
My name is Melody Greene, and I got kicked out of my position as a teacher and did my walk of shame a la Cersei Lannister from the principal’s office, minutes after said principal threatened to call the cops on me.
My name is Melody Greene, and I did something bad because it made me feel good.
Here is why it was totally worth it.

Defy is a smutty, insta-love, insta-lust short novella. Defy is a prequel to Vicious (Sinners of Saint #1). It is recommended, but unnecessary, to read Defy before reading Vicious.

my-thoughts-pink

If that synopsis doesn’t get the blood pumping, I don’t know what will. I read Vicious before Defy and fell mega hard for that jerkface, Vicious. I am a bad boy magnet. I need them, I love them, I can’t get enough of them in both real life and in books. Vicious was so yummy and hot and just give him to me. So, of course, when I found out the L.J. had a prequel coming out with Jaime, one of the four Hot Holes, I was all over it. Actually, I probably bugged the author way too much on Facebook because I am hardcore obsessed with these guys. I just want to lean over her shoulder and read as she writes the rest of the books.

I downloaded Defy the night of its early release, and I was not disappointed. The hype for this book and the series is real. L.J. Shen writes bad boy book crack. I cannot get enough of her books. After reading Vicious, I was desperate to get my hands on this book. It’s a super short read. I finished the entire book in two hours and was like where’s my next Hot Hole because I need Dean right this second. Gimme, gimme! P.S. If you’re a fan of the Sinners of Saint series, Ruckus is coming out in either the spring or summer and it’s about Dean. Hells yeah! I love Dean! (Anyway, enough fangirling.)

As the description says, it’s an insta-love, smutty novella. You get very little character development from Melody who is narrating the story up until the epilogue. I wanted to mention that because some people have an intense hatred for insta-love, and while I’m normally one to complain about it, the way the author handled it in this story was spot on and really worked for me. It obviously worked for a lot of people because it’s a best seller with amazing ratings and so deserving of them.

I devoured this book, literally hovering over my Kindle, eyes wide and mouth open the entire time. I laughed, I swooned, I fanned myself from all the mega hot sex scenes. Jaime and that mouth of his…Wow! I would’ve let him bend me over a desk, his knee, whatever the hell he wanted if he talked to me like that. He was so damn sexy I couldn’t get enough of him. By the end, I was even more in love with him.

Defy takes place ten years before Vicious in a super rich neighborhood in California. The kids at this high school are spoiled with wealth and have no respect for anything. Jaime basically owns Melody, who is also his teacher, and she just goes along for the ride because hey, why not? He’s a Hot Hole and they are smoking HOT!

While I loved this book, I didn’t love it as much as Vicious. There’s something about popping your Hot Hole cherry with a guy like Vicious that’s just so special. I loved his anger and his attitude. What can I say? He was my first. πŸ™‚ I also enjoyed Millie a lot more than Melody.

I thought Melody was funny and weird, and because of that, she paired up well with Jaime. But the angry banter between Vicious and Millie was so off-the-charts it couldn’t top Jaime and Melody. Plus, Melody just went with the flow. Jaime would tell her what to do and she just did it. I would’ve been like bite me and made him chase me around, especially since he was her student.

I honestly loved this book so much that I recommended it to everyone I know. The sexual chemistry and the super juicy scenes were crazy hot. Like throw me in a shower ASAP Hot! Need I say more?

Read this baby while it’s still on Kindle Unlimited and only $0.99 on Amazon.
Buy Now From Amazon Button

 

what-are-your-thoughts-pink

Talk to me, peeps!

XO,

Jill

I like stalkers! Come find me on Social Media!

Facebook | Twitter | Author Website | Goodreads Profile


15 thoughts on “RAVE REVIEW: DEFY by L.J. Shen

  1. Goodness, this book! SO HOT! I’ve never read sex scenes like some of the ones in Defy lol. Can’t even wait for more in this series, especially Dean! He is just going to be a silly, cocky womanizer I can already tell and I guarantee we will LOVE HIM! Great review as always :).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

